Community Engagement Ratings

HB 5 included a local evaluation requirement that is frequently referred to as the community engagement component. The community engagement requirement is an opportunity for districts to showcase areas of excellence and success as well as recognize areas in need of improvement and set future goals valued in the community.

The statute requires each district to evaluate and designate a performance rating for the district and each of its campuses in the district based on criteria set by a local committee (TEC 39.0545). The law requires that each district and each campus be assigned a rating of exemplary, recognized, acceptable, or unacceptable.

The statute provides nine factors for which the district and each campus must be evaluated:

1. Fine arts
2. Wellness and physical education
3. Community and parental involvement
4. 21st century workforce development program
5. 2nd language acquisition program
6. Digital learning environment
7. Dropout prevention strategies
8. Educational programs for GT students
9. Compliance with statutory reporting and policy requirements.

Each district must use criteria set by a local committee to evaluate the districts and campuses performance under each of the first 8 categories (exemplary, recognized, acceptable, or unacceptable) and provide an answer (yes or no) for the compliance category.


Nacogdoches ISD — Recognized     
Brooks-Quinn-Jones Elementary —  Recognized 
Emeline Carpenter Elementary —  Acceptable
Emeline Carpenter Intermediate — Recognized
Fredonia Elementary — Recognized
Nettie Marshall Academy of Dual Language —  Recognized
Raguet Elementary  —  Exemplary
Thomas J. Rusk Academy of Fine Arts — Recognized
Mike Moses Middle School — Recognized
McMichael Middle School —  Acceptable
Malcolm Rector Technical High School — Acceptable
Nacogdoches High School — Recognized

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.