National Blue Ribbon Award Nomination Celebration

National Blue Ribbon Award Nomination Celebration
Posted on 01/22/2018
National Blue Ribbon Award Nomination Celebration

Nettie Marshall Academy of Dual Language students, staff and Nacogdoches ISD administrators and trustees on Monday celebrated the school’s nomination for a 2018 National Blue Ribbon Award.

Students and teachers danced and sang in the school’s cafeteria. Those on stage were soon joined by NISD Superintendent Sandra Dowdy along with several school board members.

NISD received word last week of Nettie Marshall’s nomination for the prestigious honor. The school is one of 26 in Texas being considered for the award; winners will be announced later this year.

NISD school board members on hand for Monday’s celebration were G.W. Neal, Steve Green, James Montoya, Farshid Niroumand and Pam Fitch. Trustee Russell Scott and Board President the Rev. James Ervin had prior commitments and could not attend.

County officials at the event were Nacogdoches County Attorney John Fleming, Sheriff Jason Bridges and Precinct 2 Commissioner Jerry Stone.

City officials included Mayor Pro Tem Roy Boldon and NEDCO President and CEO Larissa Philpot. Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce officials attending Monday included President and CEO C. Wayne Mitchell and Executive Vice President Kelly Daniel.

Jerri Jones, aide to state Rep. Travis Clardy, was also on hand.